top of page

An Alternate Universe


One minute it was a cloudy winter day, with my blinds closed, eyes shut, blankets hanging over my bed, fast asleep with dreams running about in my head, time ticking by, my alarm not having rung yet like a ticking time bomb.

I shifted myself, tired, and uncomfortable.


And then I woke up to an unfamiliar planet, before my eyes. The rush of the sun rays beaming on me; it seemed as if someone had shined a bright spotlight on me, I felt trapped, I had to get out.

My mind was blank. I couldn’t think.

I was numb.

My heart was racing. The planet deserted.

This led me back to school in the crowded halls by myself as I tried to move. I closed my eyes shakily and paused.

I took a deep breath, as if I had just finished a panic attack.

I walked around, exploring the rocks on the planet.

I watched the twinkling, captivating sky of Mars; the sky was compelling as a bright star shone down onto the red planet.

It felt magical.

Martian planet. I looked out my window and watched the red rocky planet, in hopes I shall return again.

The rocket stood on the ground, blowing out smoky clouds of fire and red dust. I woke up, breathing heavily...I was never on Mars.


Recent Posts

See All

The Other Side

I want to leave. I want to flee. Run, I want to run. I want to be free. I want to disappear with you. Leave with you. Go far away with you. Leave this community behind. To go explore. Adventure. Make

In my Element

I look down at my hands. Only to see a small ukulele sitting there. I pick it up, and I stare at the wall. “What to do?” I ask myself. I suddenly close my eyes, and my fingers magically strum to a bea

Neon Lights

I walk into the dimly lit pizza parlor and drop into a table near the back. The neon signs contrast against the dark walls, giving the parlor a ghostly look. I’ve been coming to this place for as long

bottom of page