top of page

Fool

by Rhoda K.



Once, those eyes of green and blue erupted swarms of butterflies within me. His radiant smile would cause my face to flush red in embarrassment. We could talk for hours about nothing simply because we enjoyed each other's company. Or at least I enjoyed his. But now as he stood before me, I realized how much of a fool I was. I had let my guard down and he had weaseled his way through. In the process he gained my trust, too much of it.


He ran his fingers through his shaggy hair, smirking as he leaned against the wall. “I trusted you” I finally managed to whisper out, staring in distraught at my foolishness. I shouldn’t have been so careless. He scoffed and got off the wall, standing to his full height. “Well you can’t exactly blame me can you?” the stupid smirk never left his face.“You trusted me on your own accord. You’re at fault.” Then his figure turned to walk down the hall. He was right. I had no one to blame but myself.


bottom of page