top of page

Nothing Lasts Forever

By Rhoda Kasin


“Slow down!” I laughed as Caleb stepped on the accelerator. A simple picnic near the beach was the plan for today. He glanced over and displayed his dazzling smile. “Why?” He yelled over the howl of wind. I simply shook my head as a grin split across my face.


We finally had time to ourselves and I wasn’t going to let worries stop me from feeling happy. The rush of air ran through his dirty blonde hair, tousling it up. I felt happy and content as I looked over to the blurr of ocean blue being displayed. I had to admit that it was scary. I knew I was falling, but I didn’t want to stop. Even the simple things he did warmed my heart. Finally, the universe had gifted me with the one person I could see myself spending the rest of my life with. I looked back and saw as the wind currents filling up his shirt.

He glanced back at me then reached for my hand to kiss it like he usually did. He barely grasped it before we were violently thrown forward. The car was airborne for those few seconds before it came crashing down. The glass from the windshield rained onto us before it stopped. I had survived! I-


C-Caleb…? His body sat stiff with his neck bent at an odd angle. Blood oozed from the deep gashes in his arms and legs. Tears fell as I felt my heart plummet.


Recent Posts

See All

Fool

by Rhoda K. Once, those eyes of green and blue erupted swarms of butterflies within me. His radiant smile would cause my face to flush red in embarrassment. We could talk for hours about nothing simpl

bottom of page